Archive for the ‘Uncategorized’ Category

Cosmic Commandos

I’ve written and drawn my first graphic novel and it’s due out on July 4, 2017 called Cosmic Commandos!

Here’s the synopsis:

In this graphic novel adventure for readers of Hilo and Roller Girl, a pair of twin brothers accidentally bring their favorite video game to life—and now they have to find a way to work together to defeat it.

Jeremy and Justin are twins, but they couldn’t be any more different from each other. Jeremy is a risk taker who likes to get his hands dirty; Justin prefers to read, focus, and get all his facts straight before jumping in. But they do have one important thing in common: They both love video games. When Jeremy wins a cereal-box charm that brings his favorite video game to life, villains and all, he finds that he’s in way over his head. Justin knows everything there is to know about the rules of the game—he read the handbook, of course—and Jeremy isn’t afraid to try new things. Can these two mismatched brothers work together to beat the video game that has become their life?

So, go out and preorder!

CC_cover

 

Not sure how long this will last…

…but if you go to MISERY LOVES SHERMAN you can read the old archive and adding some new strips randomly.

2015-03-16a

Misery Loves Sherman

So a few years ago, I did a free online comic strip. Did it for a few years until other work became so plentiful that I had to make choices. The choice was to stop doing the strip for a time. Well, it’s become a LONG time. But every now and then I do a strip when the feeling strikes. I’d truly love to do more–it’s a form of therapy for me. But in the meantime, take a look through the archives if you want to see some earlier work.

MISERY LOVES SHERMAN

MLSnew001_square

Oh yeah!

Wow. I’ve had so much to do recently, I’ve really neglected this site. Need to change that. So, hopefully, look for more in the future.. Not sure what yet.

I’m sure I can post works in progress and other tidbits. Keep an eye out.

 

In the meantime, here’s a sketch I did for Baby Flash Gordon. A story I’m doing for the Flash Gordon annual  out this September!

 

babyflash

Mediocre

I’ve read about what causes people to not take action on a creative project. I’ve heard of “Fear of Failure” and “Fear of Success.” For me, though, I get hung up on what I call a Fear of mediocrity.

I fear just doing something that’s okay.

I’ve done bad stuff. Heck, most of my work has been bad. At least in my eyes. I always want to improve and that always makes me see previous work as bad. Well, not “bad” but not up to standards I feel are up to snuff. Most of my early work, and some of my later work has been bad. I’ve developed, through hard work, a level of professionalism that shows I have improved. I’ve done a few things that I feel were good. Some because of award nominations, but some because I see I stepped out of a comfort zone.

I always want to push myself past mediocrity. I want to do work that is better than just okay. I don’t always do it. I try, but sometimes things just fall apart. So, when I start a new project, I’m not hampered by success or failure, what gets me overanalyzing is always questioning if the work is just okay. Bad is okay. I’ve done bad and I will probably do bad again. Heck, you can’t do great without doing an awful lot of bad.

Sometimes worrying if something is just mediocre makes me push harder and that’s a good thing. I want more of that worry. Not the kind that makes me stop and start.

I’m working on a pitch for a new book. I don’t want it to be middle-of-the-road. So, I keep telling myself to analyze the story. Find other avenues the story could take. Don’t take the safe, trite route. I’m going to try to dare to be bad to find something good.

Bat Mite

Just because.

Tease

A little tease of the book Nate Cosby and I are doing. More announcements to come.

Flash Family

Want to do this book.

Ack

Admiral Ackbar: The Early Years

Is this thing on?

Just testing out under the hood.

Get Adobe Flash player Plugin by wpburn.com wordpress themes